Having an OWI does not make you a bad person, you’ve just made a mistake.
Getting charged with an OWI is a serious offense with serious consequences. Even just one offense can have life changing effects, especially if someone was physically injured.
But, what should you do after getting an OWI in Iowa?
In the state of Iowa, a charge commonly called a DUI is referred to as an OWI, which stands for “Operating While Intoxicated.” It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of any amount of controlled substance in your blood or urine. Along with this, it is also against the law to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol where your blood-alcohol content (BAC) is .08 or above.
The first thing to know about OWI charges is that each case is different, and all can be complex. If you want to know exactly what to do for help after an OWI arrest charge, you should consult detailed advice from a skilled OWI lawyer.
If you are facing your first OWI charge, you can expect jail time from 48 hours up to one year. There will be fines of up to $1200, and your license will be suspended for 180 days. If you are getting an OWI for the second or third time, the consequences become more serious.
After you have been charged with an OWI, one thing is certain; you must complete the 12-Hour OWI Program that is required by the Iowa Department of Transportation. There are several providers of the 12-Hour Course.
So Why Choose Prelude’s OWI Program?
For more than 45 years, Prelude’s dedicated professionals have provided substance abuse prevention and treatment services. We are committed to providing a non-confrontational, supportive and respectful environment for you to receive instruction required by the State of Iowa.
All of our instructors have been certified by the Prevention Research Institute and are experienced substance abuse professions. The 12-Hour OWI Course is based on research. The instructors do not moralize, judge or dictate. Prelude’s approach provides new information and support to assist you in exploring new beliefs and changing behaviors.
Prelude’s OWI program will help you:
Estimate your personal level of risk for developing alcohol and drug problems.
Help you to develop a specific action plan to avoid further problems with alcohol or drugs.
The cost of the course is $115 as mandated by the State of Iowa. This cost includes the student manual which is distributed at the first class. In order to meet the Iowa DOT requirements, participants must be on time and must complete the full 12 hours of course time. Upon completion, information will be sent electronically to the Iowa DOT.
All Prelude 12-Hour Course classes are held on weekends. You can find the current class schedule and get signed up on our website which we are proud to offer, along with many other resources available to help you.
Maybe the OWI has been a wake-up call, or is a sign that it’s time to make a change. There is hope for you. To avoid future OWIs, the safest thing to do is never to drink before you get in the car. If you need more help, reach out to Prelude today, or download one of our Self Recovery Toolkits.